Emerging Filmmaker Award

Emerging Filmmaker Award Trophy.JPG

The submission period for the 2022 Emerging Filmmaker Award is now open.

The North Bellarine Film Festival Emerging Filmmaker Award is a jury-selected award presented to a filmmaker who resides or has resided in the State of Victoria (Australia) and is no older than 25 years of age at the time that they make their submission.


The winner and finalists will have their films screened at the Potato Shed in Drysdale, Victoria on 19 November 2022.

Full terms and conditions can be found on FilmFreeway.

The NBFF Committee wishes to thank Body Corporate Strata Group for its generous sponsorship of the award.

Visit our Contact Us page and subscribe to the festival and award mailing lists to keep up to date on the latest information.


2021 Emerging Filmmaker Award


The winner of the 2021 Emerging Filmmaker Award is Jack Sillitoe from Bacchus Marsh for his film Fixity. Fixity follows a housebound investigative journalist who is being stalked by a mysterious criminal.

Jack is a recent graduate of Bacchus Marsh College and was seventeen years old when made Fixity.  He began publishing films on YouTube when he was fourteen years old and won the Best Under-15 Award at the Westworld Film Festival. 

Watch Fixity

Media Release

J Sillitoe accepting award.JPG



2020 Emerging Filmmaker Award

The winner of the 2020 Emerging Filmmaker Award is Grace Griffith for her period drama, Fallen, set in Mont St Quentin, France during World War One.


When a seriously injured Captain tumbles into a trench, a Private tends to the wound and distracts the him with conversation. As the two men reveal intimate details of their lives back home in Australia, a chance revelation that will change the course of their war is made.

Fallen was also awarded the Gold Remi at the WorldFest-Houston International Film & Video Festival and Best Student Film at the Montreal Independent Film Festival.


Grace is from Wandiligong in north-east Victoria and currently based in Traralgon. She is a graduate of the Swinburne University Film and Television program. 

Grace Griffith.jpg


2019 Emerging Filmmaker Award


The winner of the 2019 Emerging Filmmaker Award was Tadji Ulrich for his beautiful film When We Were One.

When this world is forever torn apart, Will must find a way to hold on to Aimee and for them to once more be as one.

Tadji is a young filmmaker based in Melbourne. His first film, I Believe, was shortlisted for Trop Jr and, as part of the 2016 Little Big Shots International Film Festival, was shown at ACMI and the Sydney Opera House. His mockumentary Outcasts Anonymous won Trop Jr, the world’s largest short film festival for kids, in 2018.

Tadji accepting the 2019 Victorian Emerging Filmmaker Award

press to zoom

Tadji and co-star Ana Swadling

press to zoom

Tadji accepting the 2019 Victorian Emerging Filmmaker Award

press to zoom